I Got Nominated!!!

liebsterblogaward
I’m so honoured to say that I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award! I want to thank Alex of The Bewildered 20-Something Writer for nominating me. Go check her out – she’s amazing.

Okay, so basically, here’s what a Liebster Award is for those of you who know nothing about it like me. Yeah, I didn’t know what it was either until a couple of hours ago. Most simply put, it’s an award for small blogs (i.e. with under 3,000 followers). Bloggers who receive it nominate at least 5 other bloggers they’d like to receive the award. It’s meant to help drive traffic to the smaller blogs. Also, if the blogger on the receiving end accepts the award, they have to answer the questions asked by the nominator. It’s a completely “no strings attached” kind of thing. Meaning, you don’t have to accept if you’re nominated. So, here’s to feeling awesome and appreciated.

Now, here’s the five bloggers I chose to nominate because well, I just thought they were so darn awesome:

Fiction Flashes
300 Stories
A Story a Day
In the Field
The House of Bailey

Thank you all for supporting me through blogging and also helping me prepare for NaNoWriMo this year!

Here are my questions to you who accept:
1. Your favourite author is writing a new book and they need inspiration for their Main Character. They’ve chosen you as their inspiration. Who’s writing the book and what’s the name of it going to be?
2. You need quiet time to do some much needed writing. You can go anywhere in the world to get that peace and quiet. Where are you going to go?
3. What inspired you to start blogging?
4. How did you feel when you got your first blog follower?
5. If you could eat any food that you’re allergic to and not have a reaction, what food would you choose? If you’re not allergic to any foods, what food do you wish you were allergic to?
6. What’s your greatest memory?
7. What are your three biggest pet peeves?
8. What’s something you’ve always wanted to accomplish, but feel you’ll never do it?
9. You’re in the wilderness and you’ve just been bit by a poisonous snake. You could die any minute unless someone with you knows how to save you. Who do you wish was with you?
10. If you could go back in time to give yourself advice, what age of yourself would you visit and what would you tell them?

Now here’s for the questions asked by Alex:

1.) What inspired you to start writing/blogging?
Latesummer

Back in 2010, I knew without a doubt that I wanted to be a journalist. It would give me a job in the writing field and that’s ultimately what I most wanted. I knew it wouldn’t be easy, but it’s something I wanted to really work for. So, someone I was close to suggested that I start a blog to see if I could stand up to the challenge of having to write something journalistic every day. I failed – and I mean, I failed miserably! I gave up blogging and my dream of journalism after only 7 posts. That blog is still in existence today, sadly abandoned.

Two years later, in 2012, I thought I’d give blogging another try – and Rendering a View was born on Tumblr. I tried giving the journalistic feel a try again, but I just couldn’t keep it up. I got miserably bored with it yet again. I didn’t give up this time though. I wanted to blog so badly because so many other bloggers had inspired me. I didn’t care how many followers I had – I just knew that some of my favourite writers in this world were bloggers. I wanted to follow in their footsteps. So, I trudged on to find my writing niche. I turned to photography for my blog and got bored with that too even though I do rather love photography. Then I did a placeholder deal and blogged about the holidays. Finally, I settled on reviews. I love writing reviews of all sorts, but especially book reviews. I knew I’d found my niche and it’s really as if the Rendering a View piece of me knew what it was all along with a name like that for a blog. I’ve been writing reviews seriously ever since then. So, I want to thank my fellow bloggers for inspiring me enough to keep it up and find my place in the blogging community.

2.) If you could shrink any animal – real or mythical – so that it was pocket sized, what animal would you shrink and keep as a pet?

The-touch-of-Trust-toothless-the-dragon-21330620-1680-1050
If I could shrink any animal, it would most definitely be a dragon. And more specifically, Toothless from How to Train Your Dragon. I mean, how could you not want to pocketsize that adorable creature?

3.) Name three guilty pleasure books and/or movies that you’re sorry you’re not sorry you like (say that three times fast).

Okay – here we go, guilty pleasures that I’m so not ashamed of!
– Junie B. Jones. Yep, I still read them from time to time. This is how I got my start on reading. I could never give up these books!
my-junie-b-jones-photo-creation1
– Grease 2. I know a lot of people didn’t like the second film, but I swear I loved it. The music is nearly as catchy as the first one!
grease2-1
– The Princess Diaries. I did rather like the films, but I’m talking about the books. I started reading these when I was really young and I’ve loved them ever since. I haven’t read them in a long time, but I could definitely pick them up today and still enjoy them, I think.

4.) If you could change your name to anything, what would you change it to?

name
Oh this is easy. Princess Consuela Banana Hammock! Haha, just kidding, but I had to take the opportunity to put that in. Actually, I’ve always liked the name Lucinda.

5.) What inspires you creatively, i.e., what gets your creative juices pumping again when you’re in a bit of a slump?

Peoples’ creative juices actually stop flowing?! What is this nonsense? Okay, okay, so I’m in a joking mood tonight.

In all seriousness, people inspire me creatively. If I seriously can’t think of what to write, I go out and watch people interacting in their everyday lives. I like to make up stories about what the lives of others might be like.
people

Another thing that inspires me is nightmares. Creepy, eh? Actually, I embrace my nightmares. Sure, they’re scary and it’d be nice if everyone never had nightmares, but I figure if I can’t control them, I should at least get good use out of them, right? So, I tend to turn them into stories.
rise-of-the-guardians-the-boogeyman

6.) If you knew you only had one hour before the zombie apocalypse, what would you do?

zombies
This is a hard one. There’s a lot you can do in an hour. I think I’d probably spend the time making sure that the people I’m closest to are safely tucked away in my home; then build strong barriers over the doorways and other entrances. Cliché maybe, but I don’t think I could survive without those people!

7.) Name the weirdest/funniest/coolest/most memorable/etc. dream you’ve had.

dawnencounter
The weirdest and most memorable dream I’ve ever had is the dream about attending my own funeral. It’s incredibly creepy and you can read it here: http://latesummersthoughts.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/a-funeral-to-forget/

8.) What advice would you give your six-year-old self?

six years old
If I could give my six-year-old self advice, I’d tell her to keep a dream diary. I’d tell her that no matter how mundane or scary the dream seems, write it down when you wake up. They’ll come in handy in the future, I’d tell her. I’d tell her than even though it seems pointless because she wants to be a doctor more than anything in the world, do it anyway. I’d tell her that life incidents change plans – that nothing, absolutely nothing is set in stone.

9.) What are the five things that make you happiest?

five things
The five things that make me happiest in no specific order:

– Pumpkin spice anything
– Pen and paper
– My Kindle app
– Family/Friends/Loved Ones
– Good memories

10.) Star Wars or Star Trek?

untitled
Star Wars all the way!

6 thoughts on “I Got Nominated!!!

  1. Awesome answers!! The advice to your six-year-old self was so heartfelt and genuine, I was legitimately moved. Thank you 🙂

    1. Thank you. I’m glad you were moved by my advice. I can only tell myself what I know I would want to know. Looking back, I know I’d have wanted to know that there were other job options much earlier than I actually realised it. And I also know that I wish I’d kept a dream journal my whole life because so many of my best stories are based off them.

      1. Figuring out that there are other job options is a hard lesson to learn, and not everybody learns it in time. That, and learning that you can actually change your mind about what career path to follow haha. In grad school I worked with college freshmen in a writing center, and one of my most memorable experiences there was sitting down a girl who was freaking out about wanting to change her major but not knowing if she should. I pointed to all of my co-workers who had changed their majors and careers because their initial picks didn’t suit them and were infinitely happier because of it. Gotta know you have options and that those options aren’t set in stone 🙂

        Dreams really are the best. Props to you for keeping a dream journal though. I’ve tried to for forever and I just haven’t had the discipline to maintain it for more than a week.

      2. I agree completely. Options are the better part of life, I think. When you know you have them and can make any choice in the world that you want, it’s like you receive a whole new vision for your life. Even back in 2010 after I’d finally decided what I wanted to do with my life, I changed my mind yet again. It took a lot of career choice changes, but I think I’ve finally hit a winner with wanting to go into the publishing industry – but I’m always open to changing again if I find that doesn’t suit me in the end. The way I see it, nothing’s set in stone until you have a carved headstone. Things can change at any point in time, and I’m okay with that.

        Oh it was hard to get into the habit of keeping a dream journal, but after a few dreams I realised that some of my best stories were based off my dreams and I knew that I needed to keep hold of them for as long as possible. Writing them down allows me to keep them forever, which is important to me now that I have dreams so rarely.

      3. Exactly 🙂 Life’s far too short to not change your mind on things that don’t suit you. Change, while sometimes sucky, is usually a good thing.

        That’s the best part about writing, isn’t it? While I don’t keep a dream journal, I do make sure I have at least one notebook with me at all times so that I can write down passing thoughts, because if I don’t I *always* forget them. I once came up with the perfect name for my female protagonist and didn’t write it down because it was “too perfect to forget.” So, of course I forgot it >:O I shall have to try to get diligent about dream journals though, because I’m dreaming more irregularly now too, and dreams are fantastic story builders.

Leave a Reply

