Review: The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window by Kirsty Moseley

The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window
The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window by Kirsty Moseley is a love story like I’ve never read before. It’s a beautiful story based around Amber, her brother, and her brother’s best friend Liam. Amber and her brother live an abusive life at the hands of their father and Liam is the only person outside the family that knows about it. If you’ve ever gone through something hard in your life and needed someone to lean on, this is the book for you.

Plot

Meet Amber. She and her brother were born into a family that consisted of a loving mother and an abusive father. They have to walk on eggshells around him. Make one wrong move, and they get beat. When Amber is eight years old, she just can’t take it anymore. After everyone’s gone to bed one night, she locks her door and begins to cry.

Meet Liam. He’s just the boy next door. He’s been Amber’s brother’s best friend since they moved to the neighbourhood. When Liam looks through his window and sees Amber crying on her bed, he sneaks out to comfort her.

What ensues after that one night, when Amber was eight and Liam was ten, is a nightly ritual in which Liam sneaks out of his bedroom window and into Amber’s every night to sleep with her – that’s all they do though: sleep, I mean. But now that Amber is sixteen and Liam is eighteen, Amber’s starting to feel something for Liam that’s more than just friendship. Liam’s a player though that’s never settled down with a girl in his life. So, she may be putting her heart at risk by falling for him the way she is. Would Liam – the boy who has been there for her every night of her life – really actually hurt her though?

Reviewer’s Thoughts

When I found this book on Goodreads, I knew I had to add it into my reading list immediately. I was inbetween books and wanted to give it a try right then. So, I grabbed it up, cracked open my tablet, and began reading. And well, I didn’t put it down until I was finished! Well, no, that’s not quite right either. I did put it down about halfway through when I got to a heart-stopping moment in the book. But after a short breather, I picked it right back up and finished it.

This book is just so readable. It’s real and it’s emotional. The characters are palpable and don’t try to hide what they’re feeling from the reader. As you follow Amber and Liam on their journey, you get the shock and the pleasure of experiencing what they’re going through with them.

Another pleasant variant Moseley added to her story was the occasional switch of p.o.v. Every once in a while, she would switch from Amber’s point of view to Liam’s. So, on the occasion that it was important to see things through Liam’s eyes, you got to.

There was one thing that I’d like to point out that I didn’t really like that much. When Amber was at school rather than at home, it was almost like she was a completely different person. At points, her quirkiness just went into a direction that was just plain silly. I think that could have been worked on a bit, but it was the only thing I found in this book that I didn’t like.

These two teens go through a lot as this book progresses and I loved that it wasn’t just plot centred. Sometimes, you get those books where the problems the characters go through are only based around needing a story rather than being an integrated part of their lives. This is definitely not the case with Amber and Liam. After reading the backstory on their lives, it’s clear that this is just how their lives were meant to progress.

Overall, The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window was a fantastic read. It was difficult to put down and I’d recommend it to anyone over the age of about fifteen. Though, it is probably more directed towards a female audience. I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.

***Dearest readers, I am adding a new feature to my reviews. Every time I write a review, I have to listen to music. This is just a must for me. I have serious focus issues when I don’t listen to music while I write. So, I’ve decided to give you a little piece of me by letting you all know what I listen to when I write a review.

For this review, I listened to “Get Your Guns” by Jamie Campbell Bower ^.^ I’m obsessed with him! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OW0Ew8iujNA

2 thoughts on “Review: The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window by Kirsty Moseley

Leave a Reply

