2013 End Of Year Book Superlatives

2013 is coming to an end, dear readers. So, I’ve decided to take some time to reflect upon the books I’ve read by taking the survey provided by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page Turner.

1. Best Book You Read In 2013? (If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

I read a lot of good books in 2013, but hands down, the best book I read in 2013 was Just One Day by Gayle Forman.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

The one book I found that I thought I was going to absolutely love, but didn’t was Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. I’d heard some amazing things about this book, but it just dragged for me.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013?

The most surprising in a good way book I encountered this year was Shift by Em Bailey. It sounded okay when I read the blurb for it, but wasn’t very high on my to-read list. However, I devoured it in one sitting when I finally picked it up and I’m so glad I did.

4. Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

The book I’ve found that I recommended the most to people this year was Forgotten by Cat Patrick. It was a book that I read early this year, but it was so good that I’ve found myself talking about it all year long.

5. Best series you discovered in 2013?

The best series I discovered this year was the Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

My new favourite author I discovered this year is Rebecca Lim, author of the Mercy series.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

The best book that was out of my comfort zone was The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer. This was more like a children’s book, but I just absolutely loved it from cover to cover and plan to read the sequel in the coming year.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

The most thrilling, unputdownable book of 2013 for me ended in a tie. I couldn’t decide because both were equally as good and thrilling. It came down to To Be Perfectly Honest by Sonya Sones and Just One Day by Gayle Forman.

9. Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Easily Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. In fact, I’ll probably re-read the entire series sometime next year simply because I love it.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

To Be Perfectly Honest by Sonya Sones. This was one of my most recent reads and I picked it solely because of the cover. I’m glad some books really can be judged by their covers!

17305095

11. Most memorable character in 2013?

Mercy from the Mercy series by Rebecca Lim is the most memorable character I’ve encountered this year.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

The most beautifully written book I’ve run across in 2013 was The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. It was just so simply written. I loved it from beginning to end and was beautifully crafted.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013?

The book that had the greatest impact on me this year was Just One Day by Gayle Forman. This book really hit me in a way that no other book has.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read?

I really can’t believe I waited until 2013 to pick up The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. I based this book off its blurb for a long time and it just didn’t catch my interest. In fact, it sounded kind of juvenile to me. However, something possessed me this summer to pick it up and I’m so glad I did.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

My favourite passage/quote came from Just One Day by Gayle Forman:

EmilysQuotes.Com-life-love-death-amazing-great-Gayle-Forman-1024x640

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

I think the shortest book I read this year was The Christmas Hope by Donna VanLiere. The longest was To Be Perfectly Honest by Sonya Sones.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

The one book this year that had me reeling and dying to talk to someone was Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick – specifically, the next to last and the last chapter of this book.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

My favourite relationship from a book I read in 2013 was Belly and Conrad from The Summer I Turned Pretty series by Jenny Han.

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Courtship Dance by Candace Camp was my favourite book from an author I’ve previously read. I’ve been reading her books for a good solid 4 years now and I absolutely loved this one by her.

20. Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else.

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe is actually the only book I read based solely on a recommendation.

21. Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

I read most from the YA genre in 2013. It ranged from contemporary to historical to dystopian to mythical.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2013?

My newest fictional crush from a book I read in 2013 is hands down Patch Cipriano from the Hush, Hush series by Becca Fitzpatrick.

23. Best 2013 debut you read?

I think the only debut novel I read this year was Clementine’s Shadow by Peggy Rothschild. I definitely don’t regret reading that one, but realising that it’s the only debut novel I read this year is going to make me set a goal to read more of them next year.

24. Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer easily had the most vivid world I’ve encountered in a book this year. I mean, how could popping into a fairy tale book not be vivid?

25. Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

The most fun read I encountered in 2013 was The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. It’s simplicity and meaning just made it such an exciting summer read.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

The only book I read this year that actually made me cry – and I balled my eyes out! – was Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick.

27. Book You Read in 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

I really think the entire Mercy series by Rebecca Lim was overlooked when it came out. It was such a good and full series. I’m so surprised it hasn’t become more popular than it is.

Leave a Reply

