Very, Very Behind!!!

Edit: Okay for some reason it’s refusing to show a title and is only showing “Link” in its place. That’s a little annoying. But for the time being, this is obviously titled “Very, Very Behind!!!”

I know, I know. I’ve not done any reviews at all here recently. So, in attempts to catch up, I’m going to do some quick reviews in this post! This way, I can feel open to go into some new full reviews as soon as I finish reading my current book. So, here I go.

To Be Perfectly Honest by Sonya Sones
17305095

This books focuses around a fifteen-year-old girl named Colette. She’s addicted to lying. Her mother is a famous movie star so she can pretty much get away with anything. She also just wants friends because her ‘friends’ only like her because of her mother it seems. When Colette is dragged off to one of her mother’s sets for the summer she meets a boy who genuinely seems to like her. She spends her entire time focusing on him and falls for him completely. But Colette can’t stop lying. What would this boy think if he finds out? But he has secrets too. What would Colette think if she found out what his were?

I loved this book. It was beautiful and I loved that it was written in verse rather than prose. Sones wrote this story so flawlessly too. I couldn’t have been more surprised with the ending and I think you’ll be surprised too. Give this book a try. I give it 5 out of 5.

Letting Ana Go by Anonymous
Letting Ana Go

This book follows an anonymous young girl on her journey through anorexia. It’s an anonymous publishing of her personal journal detailing her own personal battles with her parents’ separation and food. She’s on a constant journey to try to make herself happy while being influenced by her best friend Jill who thinks control equates happiness.

If you liked Go Ask Alice, I fully recommend this book. It’s very similar and really teaches some good life lessons. I give this book 5 out of 5 as well since it was written in such a way that all teens and young adults can relate to it.

Loud Awake and Lost by Adele Griffin
Loud Awake and Lost

Ember was in an accident and she can’t remember what happened. In fact, she can’t even remember who she is anymore – not really. She knows who the old her was. But who was she in the 2 months before the accident? Her friends drop hints that she’d obviously changed before the accident. But why is everyone trying to hide it? All she wants to know is who she was, why she was like that, and maybe why her best friend wasn’t even her best friend anymore. Over the course of time, Ember begins to put the pieces together and remembers everything. And this process is only fast-forwarded when she meets Kai – a guy she is so attracted to yet seems so utterly familiar too.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars. It was a great story, but so much of it just dragged on. I can’t help but knock it two stars because I had a difficult time wading through it whilst trying to get through the unnecessary mush.

Just One Year by Gayle Forman
Just-One-Year-e1383544633607

We were introduced to Willem and Allyson in Just One Day. You got to hear Allyson’s story, but now let’s follow Willem in Just One Year. A lot can happen in a year and you can learn a lot about yourself. You might even find that something you believed in entirely wasn’t true at all. Willem experiences this journey as he spends his entire year away from Allyson looking for her. It only took one day to fall in love with her and he can’t get her out of his head. She’s the one that got away. Except, she’s the only one he didn’t want to get away.

I fell in love with Just One Day when I read it, but I didn’t like the sequel quite as much. It was a good story, but not quite how I imagined Willem living his life. Maybe I’d just dreamed up this guy and had an image of how I wanted him to be. That’s not the author’s fault of course. But other than that, the story was great and I loved seeing Willem travel around the world and learning all this new stuff about himself and life. It was just as philosophical as the first book and that was a big thing I was looking forward to. So this book definitely was not a let down. I give this book 5 out of 5 even if I didn’t like it quite as much.

***Okay – so there you have it. 4 flash reviews. Hopefully I can keep up for a while now! Look forward to new reviews soon!***

Leave a Reply

