Balancing Christmas with the Everyday Life of Being a Creator

arts-and-crafts-1867323_960_720

Christmas is once again upon us and it is as intense as ever. Christmas for us adults and adult-like people is a stressful time. And it’s even more stressful for us procrastinators of the world. Especially us creative procrastinators. Year after year, I make plans to make this craft and that craft, this present and that present. And every year, I vow to get an earlier start. Then, it’s December 1st and I haven’t even thought about starting. This year is no different. This year, though, I have a plan!

As a creator, I am generally a “Pantser” in every sense of the word. This goes for writing, crafting, and well, everything. I never really make plans. However, this year before heading into NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month for those of you who happen to have no idea what I’m babbling on about) I decided to divert from my pantsing ways and create an outline. *Gasps* Who ever heard of such a thing? That’s right – I became what is commonly known as a “plantser.” I plan, but I go into it knowing that I might not stick to it completely. And this worked so incredibly well for me – resulting in my first NaNoWriMo win (I wrote 50,000 words in 30 days for those of you still wondering what the heck this NaNoWriMo thing is) since my win in 2013. So, I decided to do something similar with my Christmas season.

On December 1st, I pulled up a note taking app on my laptop and I began jotting down every single gift/Christmas craft I would need to make this season. It’s a lot. But with a list in front of me, it all seemed a little less daunting. Then, I pulled out my calendar and I began assigning crafts to certain days throughout the month leading up to Christmas. I am ridiculously bad with time management. I always have been. I keep  hoping with time I’ll get the hang of it. But alas, that time has not come. So, adding all these Christmas crafts on top of my everyday crafting for my creative business has been a major challenge in years past. I often find myself just barely finishing before the family gathers for the Christmas get-togethers. However, with this light plan in place, I have found balancing it all out to be a bit easier. I’ve had plenty of time to fit everything in even if I’m not sticking to my plan 100%. I’ve had time to do my writing, make my Christmas crafts, keep my business running smoothly, and get plenty of Christmas reading and movie watching in.

So, readers, how are you balancing your life with the hectic holiday activities to attend to? Do you enjoy the busy nature of the Christmas season or would you rather just shirk it all and relax during this cold winter month? Let me know in the comments – I’d love to hear what you all do during your holiday seasons.

6 thoughts on “Balancing Christmas with the Everyday Life of Being a Creator

  1. I gave up on the crafts, but it’s the social scene and the errands that wear me out this season – I picked up the Christmas tree, mailed the presents, have already been to one party today and have to go to another one later on today.

    No time for writing.

    1. I’m lucky with the social end of Christmas – none of that comes until Christmas 23-25 for me. My biggest time consumer is definitely decorating. I do a lot of it – which is usually where the crafting comes in. I always see so many cute DIYs every year that I want to do. Of course, most of them never get done.

  2. I’m waiting for the holidays to blow over and starting fresh in the new year!

    Honestly, I have never mastered time management, and my executive dysfunction is borderline debilitating. I find when it gets really overwhelming, lists do help. So do frequent breaks and allowing myself to do/expect less from myself (though not to abandon/stop entirely) when pressure is really high.

    1. I definitely agree that expecting less can help when things get stressful. I always have to tell myself that if I’ve created a situation that causes me to have panic attacks (which often happens when I overload myself – something completely preventable) that it’s just not worth it and I have to be okay with the fact that I sometimes can’t do every last little thing that I want to do. And honestly, it’s okay. I find that I’m usually much happier and enjoy the season more when I unburden myself a bit. I hope the holidays are great for you and that you get a fantastic fresh start in the new year (:

Leave a Reply

