Trying to Climb Out of a Creative Slump

wizzard-1818815_960_720

It’s days like today when everything seems to be going wrong that I wonder exactly why I thought it would be a good idea to revolve my livelihood around creativity. I’ve been sitting here for several hours trying to figure out what to put down on the page. And this follows getting frustrated with my glass cutting work and my wire wrapping – both of which really need to be done today despite the fact that my hands aren’t wanting to work properly for me.

I’ve always been good at math, economics, business, and law. So why have I been pursuing a solely creative path? Why haven’t I put my time and effort into something that could easily become a career? There’s several reasons really.

I grew up knowing without a doubt that I would become a pediatrician. Who knew I freak out during emergencies and that medicine wouldn’t really be a good option for me? That was okay though – I quickly found that there were so many career options open to me that wouldn’t consist of some child coming to me with their leg gashed open and needing stitches or some other medical procedure immediately. I hopped around from law to politics to the military to business. Any of these would have been viable options. Somehow though, I landed on journalism. And from there, other versions of writing.

Writing is so deeply ingrained in me that I don’t know what I would do without it. If I couldn’t pull my notebook out and write quick little notes out when things are going good, bad, and everything in between, I’d probably go insane. Even as I continued to jump around from career choice to career choice – non-creative things that I felt others would approve of – I always came back to writing. Writing fits everything I am. It fits my creative lifestyle in every way, shape and form. No matter what creative projects I have going on in my life or what goals I’m hopping to and from, I can write about it.

On days like today when nothing is going right, there are deadlines looming, and I’m wondering why on earth I moved on from that stable line of work I had, I have to take a step back and remind myself exactly what it is I’m working towards. My creative lifestyle affords me a lot of things. It may not always bring in the best income, but it makes me happy on most days. It pushes the depression away. It allows me to have a flexible life. It allows me to expand my mind and gives me the time to learn new things constantly. It allows me to connect with a lot of great people. Writing for a living has more advantages for me than it does disadvantages. And taking this step back allows me to push forward and get the things done that I need to get done without missing deadlines. I persevere and use this beautiful creative brain of mine to figure it out.

So readers, on bad days like the one I’ve had today, what do you do to push through? How do you get out of the slump and figure out what it is you’ve got to do next? Let me know in the comments below. I’d love to hear your strategies for battling bad days.

4 thoughts on “Trying to Climb Out of a Creative Slump

  1. Whether in writing or other creative projects I try to remember that the last time I felt that way the next day I had an incredible ‘creative’ day. I know that this frustrating time too will pass.

  2. I step away and do something tedious, like vacuuming or shopping for groceries. I know that’s hard when you have deadlines, but moving around and getting away from the problem can make me keen to get back to it. Hope this doesn’t last too long for you.

    1. Stepping away is definitely my method as well. It’s difficult because I’m so stubborn in general. I don’t like to let things get to me. So I tend to push myself to the point of frustration. Luckily, a good night’s sleep helped me get some perspective. I’m back at it this morning now (:

Leave a Reply

