Answers to Kyle Overstreet’s Author Questions

I have to confess something to you, followers. It’s pretty thrilling when you find out that someone deemed you worthy enough to feature you on their blog in any fashion. It’s exciting to know that people are taking notice of you. I don’t have a huge following, but I am grateful for each and every one of you. And I was so honored when I was featured in Kyle Overstreet’s 3rd edition of NaNo Hop Author Questions. I want to give a big thank you for the mention and ask you all to go check out that blog here.

Now, to the questions!

Yet another cool name. What is Tessy short for? Or is it a name of its own?

Tessy is actually my given name. Fun fact: Tessy means ‘late summer’ in Cherokee Native American – which is approximately a quarter of my nationality. It’s a name passed down from a great-great-grandmother.

Do you think people who have cool writerly names seem drawn to writing because their name is a perfect author’s name?

Very interesting question! I suppose it does draw some people with writerly names. However, I think writing is very much ingrained in many of us – whether our name deems so or not. For me, there really was no other option. I mean, sure, I picked out loads of other careers before finally settling on writing. Tried a few of them out even. But no matter what path I took, I always landed back at writing. It’s been clear for a while now that this is what I’m meant to do.

First of all, hey! You sent me a link to your experimental poetry. It didn’t work. Could you send it again? Or post it here. Either way.

Haha, I don’t think I’ve ever done experimental poetry in my life. Maybe you got me mixed up with someone else?? In any case, if you or anyone else would like to check out some of my poetry or other flash fiction, they can find it on my Late Summer’s Thoughts blog HERE.

Do you wear purple masks all the time?

For those of you who haven’t seen it, it’s this mask being referred to (my mention came from Instagram).

20161030_094233

It was my amazing butterfly Halloween mask. Unfortunately, no, don’t always wear them. In fact, this is the first time I’ve done anything for Halloween in several years now. So, it was pretty fun. It was meant to be a throwback to a Halloween I had as a child – about 18 years ago. But I could never find the photo of that Halloween XD

Sorry I don’t have more. Instagram is a hard one for me. I’m all, “So… you like to take pictures of people and things.. Yeah…”

That’s alright! It probably doesn’t help that I don’t have a ton on my Instagram. For those of you following me there, don’t worry – I’m getting better at it. I try to remind myself almost every day that I need to post something! In any case, for those of you interested, I will tell you a little more about me – hopefully things that aren’t in my author/blog bio.

I’m Tessy. And I’m a 20-something year old woman. And actually, yeah, I do like taking photos. Photography is a big hobby of mine. I considered taking it up as a career once – but I found I don’t like HAVING to take photos. It spoiled the fun for me. But I still love my cameras and I even collect vintage ones. They’re killer. As you all know, I write – a lot. I used to write a lot of flash fiction, but mostly focus on longer works and freelance ghostwriting for clients these days. I’ve started a lot of novels, but finally have a full finished draft of one thanks to NaNo 2016. And before I wanted to be a writer, I wanted to be a number of things – doctor, defense attorney, journalist, editor, and even a private investigator (this was before I found out you’ve gotta go to school to be a P.I.??? I mean, come on – I’ve already got the skills. Who needs school?). I run a creative business. And hopefully in the new year, I’m going to start learning to crochet and also join BookTube. The latter is gonna be a big hurdle for me due to anxiety – as much as I love being behind the camera, being in front of one scares the living daylights out of me. But you know, you’ve gotta face your fears and all. So wish me luck on that one! So, um, I think that’s pretty much me in a nutshell.

Again, thanks so much for featuring me! It means so much.

And until next time followers, take care.
P.S. If you’d like to follow me on my other social media accounts and haven’t yet, I will leave links down below.

Twitter: @TessyDockery

Facebook: @Dockery.Tessy

Instagram: tessydockery

Pinterest: latesummer93

Google+: Tessy Dockery

Goodreads: Tessy Dockery

One thought on “Answers to Kyle Overstreet’s Author Questions

Leave a Reply

